Education

The vision of the Foundation is to expand local educational opportunities, with a particular focus on the field of early childhood development, and to support the transition to an increasingly knowledge-based economy in the UAE through a range of innovative initiatives

Since the founding of the UAE in 1971, the UAE leadership has always put education at the forefront of its social investments. Following in the footsteps of His Highness Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, founder of the UAE, who believed  “the greatest use that can be made of wealth is to invest it in creating generations of educated and trained people”,  the Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan Foundation is focusing its work on Early Childhood Development.  Research over the past 20 years has shown that learning-based child care gives youngsters the platform on which much of their future success will rest– intellectual, emotional and behavioral. Though Abu Dhabi has made enormous strides in education over the past 41 years early childhood education remains an area for further development. Our vision is to contribute to a new generation of UAE citizens who, as a result of investment in their development at the crucial zero-to-three stage of life, are equipped to the country into the next phase of its growth and development.

Our priority areas in education are:

In the first area, the Foundation is creating the Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan Center of Excellence in Early Childhood Development. The Center will host, among other things, a state of the art Early Childhood Development center based on international best practices that will be open to children from 0-5 years old but which will also serve as a lab school for researchers and educators.

In the second area, raising broad public awareness, the Foundation offers talks by internationally renowned Early Childhood Development experts and parenting talks that are open to the public.

In the third strategy area, the Foundation is building a new generation of specialists through the Shamsa bint Mohamed Al Nahyan Fellowship in Early Childhood Development.  This Fellowship works to enhance the learning for emerging leaders in the field of Early Childhood Development in the UAE through enrichment classes with international experts, field visits to Early Childhood Development centers internationally, study trips abroad and attendance at Early Childhood Development conferences.

التعليم

تسعى المؤسسة إلى تعزيز فرص التعليم في الدولة، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على مجال التنمية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل؛ ونسعى أيضاً من خلال طرح مجموعة من المبادرات المبتكرة إلى دعم الاقتصاد القائم على المعرفة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة

تواصل القيادات الرشيدة لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة منذ نشأتها في العام 1971، الخطى والرؤية الطموحة التي وضع ركائزها مؤسس الدولة المغفور له بأذن الله الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان، طيّب الله ثراه، والتي تتمثل في وضع التعليم والتنمية البشرية وإطلاق طاقات الموارد البشرية وتمكينها في مقدمة أولويات إستراتيجيات العمل الوطني في مختلف مراحله، وذلك لقناعة سموه الراسخة بأن الوطن من دون مواطن لا قيمة له ولا نفع منه مهما كانت ثرواته وموارده. ومواصلةً لهذا النهج، تركز مؤسسة سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان في عملها على تنمية المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل. فقد أظهرت الأبحاث على مدى العقدين السابقين أن رعاية الطفل القائمة على التعلم تمكن الشباب من النجاح في شتى النواحي الفكرية والعاطفية والسلوكية. وعلى الرغم من الخطوات الحثيثة التي خطتها إمارة أبوظبي في مجال التعليم على مدى السنوات الـ 41 السابقة، فإن مجال التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل لا يزال يحتاج إلى المزيد من التطوير. وعليه، فإن رؤيتنا تتمثل في الإسهام في تنشئة جيل جديد من مواطني دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، من خلال تنميتهم ودعمهم في أهم مراحل النمو وهي السنوات الثلاث الأولى من حياتهم، وذلك لإعدادهم بصورة جيدة لقيادة هذا البلد في المرحلة القادمة من نموه وتطوره.

أولوياتنا في مجال التعليم:

تقوم المؤسسة في أول مجالات عملها بإنشاء مركز سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان للتميّز في مجال التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل؛ وسيكون المركز الأحدث من نوعه في المنطقة والذي يستند على أفضل الممارسات الدولية المتبعة في مجال التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل. وسيفتح أبوابه للأطفال من الفئة العمرية ما بين 0-5 سنوات، كما سيكون أيضا بمثابة مختبر للباحثين والعاملين في مجالات التعليم.

وفي الجانب الثاني من مجالات عملها، تحرص المؤسسة على بناء جيل جديد من المختصين في مجال التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل، وذلك من خلال منحة شمسة بنت محمد بن زايد آل نهيان للتربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل، وهو برنامج لتعزيز التعليم بالنسبة للنساء حديثات النشأة في مجال التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث يشتمل البرنامج على دروس تثقيفية يتم تقديمها من قبل خبراء دوليين وزيارات ميدانية دولية لمراكز التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل وبعثات دراسية إلى الخارج وحضور مؤتمرات التربية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل.

كما تحرص المؤسسة في الجانب الثالث من مجالات عملها على إثراء الوعي لدى عامة الجمهور عن الأهمية القصوى للتنمية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل، وذلك من خلال تقديم المحاضرات التثقيفية بواسطة مجموعة من الخبراء المحليين والدوليين في مجالات التنمية في المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل، بالإضافة إلى إقامة محاضرات التربية.