Health

The vision of the Foundation is to help strengthen the local medical sector, expand access to quality healthcare in the UAE, and bolster the capabilities of the local medical workforce, with a particular focus on dementia and memory- related conditions

An estimated 26.6 million people worldwide suffer from Alzheimer’s Disease – a number expected to quadruple by 2050. Though not yet widely evident in the United Arab Emirates because its young population, the disease could be a problem in the decades to come. Alzheimer’s, as is widely known, is a devastating condition both on sufferers and those who care for them. While treatment remains limited at present, prevention will ultimately be the best solution for sufferers, carers and societies.

The Foundation launched its exploration in September 2013 with a seminar entitled “New Findings on How to Prevent and Treat Diabetes and Alzheimer’s” led by two world-renowned researchers from the Sweden-based the Karolinska Institutet Dr. Jaakko Toumilehto and Dr. Miia Kivipelto. It will further develop this strategy in the months to come.

الصحة

تسعى المؤسسة إلى المشاركة في البحوث التي تسهم في تطوير القطاع الصحي في أبوظبي، وتقديم خدمات رعاية صحية متميزة، بالإضافة إلى تدريب العاملين في قطاع الصحة في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة؛ مع التركيز بصورة خاصة على فقدان الذاكرة والحالات المتعلقة بها

تشير الأبحاث إلى أن ما يقدر بحوالي 26.6 مليون شخص في العالم يعانون من مرض الزهايمر، ومن المتوقع أن يرتفع هذا الرقم إلى أربعة أضعاف بحلول العام 2050. وعلى الرغم من عدم ظهور هذا المرض بشكل ملفت للإنتباه في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وذلك باعتبار أن التركيبة السكانية للدولة معظمها من الشباب، فمن المتوقع أن يشكل هذا المرض مشكلة كبيرة في العقود القادمة. وكما هو معروف عن مرض الزهايمر بأنه من الأمراض التي يعاني منها الشخص المصاب ومقدمي الرعاية على حد سواء، فالحد من إنتشاره يعتبر الحل الأمثل للمرضى ومقدمي الرعاية والمجتمعات، وذلك لمحدودية العلاج في الوقت الراهن.

قامت مؤسسة سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان في سبتمبر من العام 2013 من خلال برنامج منتدى، بتنظيم ندوة بعنوان “نتائج علميّة جديدة حول كيفية الوقاية وعلاج مرضي الزهايمر والسكر”، تحدث فيها إثنين من كبار الباحثين الدوليين المختصين في هذا المجال وهما، الدكتور “جاكو توميليهتو” والدكتورة “ميا كيفيبلتو” من معهد كارولينسكا بالسويد. وسوف تقوم المؤسسة بمواصلة تطوير هذه الإستراتيجية في الأشهر القليلة المقبلة.