Our Founder

Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan

Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan holds the position of Founder of the philanthropic foundation that bears her name and is the Chair of Abu Dhabi Art Host Committee.

The mission of the Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan Foundation is to contribute to the creation of positive futures for the people of the United Arab Emirates and the full realization of their potential and aspiration. The Foundation funds in the areas of art, culture and heritage; education; and health. It also hosts, through its Muntada program (“Forum” in Arabic), a monthly public seminar series of leading international and local thinkers and innovators. In addition, as a family foundation it serves to cultivate the philanthropic interests of her children and as a platform from which they can serve society.

The work of the Foundation reflects Her Highness’s lifelong interests and commitments – supporting emerging Emirati and Arab artists from the earliest stages of their development and providing them with the supports and opportunities that will enable them to fulfill their potential; creating opportunities for the people of the United Arab Emirates to engage with the arts; raising the international profile of Emirati artists; and supporting innovative ways to capture the rich cultural heritage of the UAE.

Her Highness’s innate character as a dedicated mother led her also to develop path breaking work in the field of Early Childhood Development where, in partnership with Yale University, she is establishing a Center of Excellence on the topic, supporting public education efforts to promote effective parenting, and providing fellowships for the leaders who will build the field of Early Childhood Development for the UAE.

Most importantly, the Foundation reflects the core values that have guided Her Highness throughout her life: humility, respect, a strong ethos of service, compassion and dedication to the people of the UAE.

In addition to her philanthropic giving through the Foundation, Her Highness supports a number of humanitarian efforts internationally through the Red Crescent.

Her Highness has received broad recognition for her work in philanthropy and the arts. She was awarded the “Woman Personality of the Year Award 2011″ by the Middle East Excellence Awards Institute, was given the “Sharjah Voluntary Work Award” in 2012, and was named one of Canvass Magazine’s Power 50 as one of the most influential cultural protagonists in Middle Eastern art and culture.

Her Highness Sheikha Salama bint Hamdan Al Nahyan is the wife of His Highness Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces. His and Her Highness have nine children and twelve grandchildren.

المؤسس

 

 سمو الشيخة سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان

أنشأت سمو الشيخة سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان هذه المؤسسة التي تتشرف بحمل اسم سموها، كما أنها تتولى رئاسة اللجنة المستضيفة لـ”فن أبوظبي”.

وتهدف المؤسسة إلى المساهمة في توفير مستقبل واعد لجميع أفراد المجتمع الإماراتي، ومساعدتهم على استكشاف قدراتهم ومواهبهم وتحقيق إمكاناتهم وطموحاتهم. وتتبنى المؤسسة وتدعم المبادرات الاستراتيجية في مجالات الفنون والثقافة والتراث وتنمية المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل والصحة. وتنظم كذلك برنامج “منتدى”. وتعمل المؤسسة على تنمية وتطوير مشاريع مجتمعية تركز على الأطفال إلى جانب توفير منصة تفتح آفاقًا رحبة للمشاركة في خدمة المجتمع.

وتعكس مبادرات المؤسسة اهتمامات والتزامات سمو الشيخة سلامة في مجالات متعددة منها صقل الفنانين الناشئين الإماراتيين والعرب منذ المراحل الأولى لتطورهم وتزويدهم بالدعم ومساعدتهم على تحقيق طموحاتهم وصقل مهاراتهم، وتطوير المزيد من الفرص لتمكين أفراد المجتمع على المشاركة في مختلف مجالات الفنون، وتسليط الضوء على أعمال الفنانين الإماراتيين على الساحة العالمية، ودعم التجارب المبتكرة المستوحاة من التراث الثقافي الإماراتي الغني.

خبرة سمو الشيخة سلامة كأم وجدة دفعتها إلى الاهتمام بالعديد من المبادرات في مجال تنمية الطفولة المبكرة لحياة الطفل بما في ذلك دعم برامج التوعية العامة للآباء والأمهات ورعاية الكوادر الإماراتية الشابة ليكونوا قادة المستقبل في مجال تنمية المرحلة المبكرة لحياة الطفل.

وتجسد المؤسسة القيم النبيلة التي تتمتع بها سمو الشيخة سلامة طيلة مسيرة حياتها وهي: التواضع والاحترام والتسامح والعمل الدؤوب والتفاني وتقديم الغالي والنفيس لخدمة شعب الإمارات.

وبالإضافة إلى عطائها الخيري ، تدعم سموها العديد من المشاريع الإنسانية الأخرى عن طريق الهلال الأحمر.

وحصلت سمو الشيخة سلامة على تقدير دولي لأعمالها الخيرية المجتمعية ومبادراتها في مجالات الفنون، حيث نالت جائزة “شخصية العام النسائية 2011″ من معهد جائزة الشرق الأوسط للتميز، و”جائزة الشارقة للعمل التطوعي” عام 2012، وأدرجتها مجلة “كانافاس” ضمن قائمتها للشخصيات الـ50 الأكثر تأثيرًا في قطاع الثقافة والفنون في الشرق الأوسط.

سمو الشيخة سلامة بنت حمدان آل نهيان هي حرم صاحب السمو الشيخ محمد بن زايد آل نهيان، ولي عهد أبوظبي نائب القائد الأعلى للقوات المسلحة بدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، ولديها 9 أبناء وبنات و14 حفيدًا وحفيدة.